Simple Sentence

7995036577_280469928c_o
(Free photo from Flickr.com)

After watching Daniel Pink’s video about the one sentence project I was really excited to come up with my own unique sentence that described myself. One sentence about myself seemed pretty easy at first, but boy was I wrong. Who knew that one simple sentence describing oneself could be so difficult to write. Personally, I really enjoy reflecting on myself and learning more about who I am as a person. That is a big reason why I keep a journal. That is why when we were addressed with this assignment I was really excited. The problem is, as much as I love learning more about myself, I am pretty bad at talking about myself and what I am good at. Because of that, it took me a while to come up with a good sentence that I thought really fit me. I will walk you through how I got to the final product.

Starting with my top three personal strengths was a lot harder than I thought it would be. After taking some time to think about myself I finally decided to settle on personable, supportive, and hardworking.

For my top three talents I thought that I should include drawing, getting things accomplished, and getting along with people. I put a lot of effort and determination into these areas of my life.

I decided for my core area of expertise it had to be basketball because I have been playing ever since first grade. It is practically my life and I still play it today here at Creighton.

The last part that I analyzed was what I can do better than anyone else. This was probably the hardest question to answer. I don’t tend to think of myself as being better than other people, so it was hard to decide what I was better at. I decided that I was better than others at being compassionate. I really care about people and want to make a difference in people’s lives. I do this by showing love and interest towards others. I believe that I have a big heart and love caring for others which is why I landed on compassion.

After analyzing myself and looking deeper than I ever have I finally landed on my sentence.

She was a hard worker with a big heart and just wanted to make a difference.

7 thoughts on “Simple Sentence

  1. Hi! I like your blog post! I also thought that writing one sentence about myself was going to be easy, but it actually took me a lot of thinking to come up with. I was excited for this assignment, too, and I am glad with what I came up with. It’s cool to see others become happy with the sentence they came up with!

    Like

  2. I admire you for keeping a journal. I’ve always tried but just never kept up with it. I like how simple but meaningful your sentence is. I appreciate how you struggled to come to it but I think it’s good one.

    Like

  3. I liked the post! Do you think keeping a journal and pushing your self to reflect on a regular basis helped you with this post? Over all I think your sentence is great and will be something that will guide you through many parts of your life!

    Like

  4. After reading your blog, I really identify with all your feelings of struggling to write this one sentence. It’s funny because a lot of the things you mentioned(drawing, basketball, etc), I like too! 🙂

    Like

  5. great post, I can definitely relate to your feelings, considering my sport has been my whole life from a young age, and I think being called a hard worker is a great way to be remembered

    Like

  6. I really like your sentence. I think it’s often hard to boil down our core being into one sentence while we are still growing but then again is there ever a place in life where we stop growing, stop maturing? Part of the reason I enjoyed your sentence is it isn’t finite or set in stone. It describes the core of who you are while embracing the inevitability of the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

