A Millennial and Social Media

My name is Sydney Lamberty and I am twenty years old. I would say social media is definitely a big part of my life. I tend to use all kinds of social media throughout the day. On my phone I currently have Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, VSCO, and Pinterest. I tend to use Instagram more than anything else; it is definitely my favorite type of social media. I think that is because I really enjoy looking at pictures and physically seeing what people are doing. It is a nice way to keep up with people’s lives and to see what they have been doing. I believe it is more of a personal choice though. Twitter also does a good job with keeping you up to date with what is going on in people’s lives as well. I just enjoy looking at pictures a lot more than just posts.

Just recently I have begun using Facebook less and less. I deleted the app on my phone because I never used it. I think I use to use it so much that I am just bored of it now. I still will never delete my Facebook account because I believe it is a good way to stay in touch with people who may not use Instagram – like my mom. It may also be a good tool when looking for a job or just networking. Even though I do not use it as much anymore I still have an account and sometimes go on to keep updated on friends and families lives.

My favorite thing about social media is how it connects so many people. Yes, like i

8292958010_e3d456a22c_o
(Free photo from Flickr.com)

mentioned above, it helps you stay in touch with friends and family, but you can also follow people that you may not know so well. Personally I follow a lot of celebrities and health accounts on Instagram and Twitter. I find it interesting to follow other people’s lives and to see what they do and what they think. It really fascinates me how fast news and ideas can travel through social media. Sometimes it is like wild fire and I think that is so amazing. People from on the other side of the world can interact with you and I find that so crazy.

Although I really enjoy social media and use it a lot, there are a few things that I dislike about it as well. The first thing that I do not enjoy about social media is that it is very easy to spread false information. Like I mentioned above, ideas and stories can get spread around like wildfire on social media. Because of this though, false stories can get spread as well. Sometimes it is hard for people to decipher whether things are fact or fiction, so that is a major problem. The second thing that I don’t really enjoy about social media is the bullying side of it. Throughout my years of using social media I have seen a lot of bullying and have even experienced it myself. It is so easy to hide behind a screen and say mean things to people. Because of social media’s layout it is very easy to spread cruel words and bully people.

Overall, I really enjoy social media and I think it is a great tool to have. In this class I would love to learn more about the history of social media and the effects that it can have on a society. I would like to learn about different viewpoints on social media as well. I think that this class is going to be very interesting and I am excited for it to really begin.

 

3 thoughts on “A Millennial and Social Media

  1. Hi Sydney. I completely agree with you on your opinion on Facebook. I rarely use it anymore except for connecting with my family, who do not have other forms of social media. Do you think someone like your mom would ever get an Instagram?

    Like

  2. I think you and I have a lot of similarities when it comes to our use of social media. I love how you label social media as a “great tool”, because I think that if you use it properly that’s exactly what it can be.

    Like

  3. You write that, “Just recently I have begun using Facebook less and less.” I wonder why millennials choose not to use Facebook as much as they used to? Is it because people like the more visual platform of Instagram and Snapchat? Are millennials annoyed by Candy Crush invites? I feel like a lot of grandmothers and parents use Facebook compared to millennials. Since it is still the largest social media network, I think that it was smart that you decided to not completely delete your Facebook. I also feel like Facebook has some advantages like the option to create Facebook events and to keep up with family and old friends

    Like

Leave a Reply

